Zobrazují se odpovědi 1 až 12 z 12

Téma: Doubling memory - [K2 mod]

  1. #1
    Registrovaný uživatel
    Založen
    30.06.2007
    Příspěvky
    42
    Post Thanks / Like
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    Doubling memory - [K2 mod]

    Kód:
                --- System memory update mod by Kofola gang ---
    
    
    Anybody who tried to make their own image for Katy probably figured out that the linux memory
    is totally exhausted. Usually around a maximum of 1 MB remains free (try yourself using
    the free(1) command).
    
    If you start up any additional programs (for example the Samba server), linux ends up getting
    extremely slow and may start killing running processes in order to free up memory.
    
    First way to add a bit of extra memory is by increasing the bootargs argument "mem=32m" to
    something bigger. (Update: Kathrein guys did it exactly this way by switching to "mem=40m").
    
    Another way, which we are proud to describe here, is by replacing the system memory chips.
    This mod gets its code-name "K2 mod" and is described below.
    
    [ --------------------------------------------------------------------------------- ]
                                  BIG BIG WARNING
    
     * K2-mod requires soldering which definitely BREAKS YOUR WARRANTY!
     * Soldering may damage your box very easily, so you are doing it at YOUR OWN RISK!
    
    [ --------------------------------------------------------------------------------- ]
    
    System memory chips are located on the board between the main CPU STB7100 (biggest chip with passive
    cooler glued on it) and the front panel. Originally it is mounted with 2 Hynix HY5DU561622ETP chips,
    which gives 64MB of system RAM.
    
    Our modification is based on replacing those 2 chips by double sized ones. We successfully
    replaced with Hynix HY5DU121622CTP chips and even by some "noname" chips from a SO-DIMM plate,
    which has a similar organization (see Hynix data sheet for the required organization).
    
    The replacement procedure is as follow:
    
     1, replace system RAM chips
    
     2, flash new bootloader
    
     3, enjoy > 70MB of free memory ;)
    
    We know that other chips will work too, but it requires your own modification
    of the init code in u-boot. We decided to stay with only one organization, which is the easiest
    to support.
    
    For those, who want to try out other chips (meaning chips with a different
    internal organization/timing) there is one hint: Check the SYS LMI part of the config registers
    to find the correct values for your chips.
    
    
    --
     When you love her nothing else matters.
    Přiložené soubory Přiložené soubory

  2. #2
    Registrovaný uživatel
    Založen
    08.07.2003
    Bydliště
    Romania
    Příspěvky
    14
    Post Thanks / Like
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Thnx m8 Nice 1
    Best reagrds,
    Vlad

  3. #3
    Registrovaný uživatel
    Založen
    16.12.2007
    Příspěvky
    6
    Post Thanks / Like
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Nice

    There is 4 pcs of those 256Mbit memories, wich ones are for system LMI?
    STI7100 cpu should be capable for running 400MHz, in kathrein it runs only 265MHz. In STLinux ver 2.3 u-boot source code there is separate selection for cut 3.x that it runs 400MHz. It should be very easy to put bigger heat sink on top of the chip.

    Any idea that kathrein boots from SATA/USB drive? That could free some RAM?

  4. #4
    dboxforever
    Host

    Cool

    System memory chips are located on the board between the main CPU STB7100 (biggest chip with passive
    cooler glued on it) and the front panel

    and:

    PLL1 : 531.00MHz
    PLL2 : 400.00MHz
    ST40 CPU : 265.50MHz
    ST40 BUS : 132.75MHz
    ST40 PER : 66.37MHz
    SLIM : 265.50MHz
    ST231 : 400.00MHz
    STBUS : 200.00MHz
    EMI : 100.00MHz
    LMI : 200.00MHz <---- look at this

  5. #5
    Registrovaný uživatel
    Založen
    16.12.2007
    Příspěvky
    6
    Post Thanks / Like
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Citace Původně odeslal dboxforever Zobrazit příspěvek
    System memory chips are located on the board between the main CPU STB7100 (biggest chip with passive
    cooler glued on it) and the front panel
    OK Thanks

    PLL1 : 531.00MHz
    PLL2 : 400.00MHz
    ST40 CPU : 265.50MHz<---This is system CPU
    ST40 BUS : 132.75MHz
    ST40 PER : 66.37MHz<--Peripherals
    SLIM : 265.50MHz
    ST231 : 400.00MHz<---Audio & Video processor
    STBUS : 200.00MHz<---Internal interconnect
    EMI : 100.00MHz<--Flash
    LMI : 200.00MHz <---- DRAM

    I mean the ST40 should be capable of 400MHz. Heat?
    ST datasheet: "ST40
    The STx7100 uses a 400 MHz ST40 as host CPU. This controls the rest of the chip, including the
    two ST231 CPUs."

  6. #6
    Registrovaný uživatel
    Založen
    26.03.2002
    Příspěvky
    704
    Post Thanks / Like
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Citace Původně odeslal K.. Zobrazit příspěvek
    System memory update mod by Kofola gang ---
    MemTotal: 102916 kB
    MemFree: 75828 kB

    Buffers: 6356 kB
    Cached: 12584 kB
    SwapCached: 0 kB
    Active: 8656 kB
    Inactive: 10612 kB
    HighTotal: 0 kB
    HighFree: 0 kB
    LowTotal: 102916 kB
    LowFree: 75828 kB
    SwapTotal: 0 kB
    SwapFree: 0 kB
    Dirty: 0 kB
    Writeback: 0 kB
    Mapped: 1108 kB
    Slab: 3128 kB
    CommitLimit: 51456 kB
    Committed_AS: 1952 kB
    PageTables: 60 kB
    VmallocTotal: 523252 kB
    VmallocUsed: 4024 kB
    VmallocChunk: 519136 kB

    very nice

  7. #7
    Registrovaný uživatel Avatar uživatele djdiageo
    Založen
    07.12.2007
    Příspěvky
    4
    Post Thanks / Like
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    good afternoon to all friends

    if u have please any photo to see

    thanks

  8. #8
    Registrovaný uživatel
    Založen
    30.06.2007
    Příspěvky
    42
    Post Thanks / Like
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Citace Původně odeslal djdiageo Zobrazit příspěvek
    good afternoon to all friends

    if u have please any photo to see
    Don't understand what do you expect to see on photo?
    There is no any need for soldering - other then
    replacing 2 memory chips. So motherboard looks
    exactly same like before.

    If you make your own photo and change printings
    on 2 RAM chips (in any bitmap editor), you get
    what you want

    /K

  9. #9
    Registrovaný uživatel Avatar uživatele Matic
    Založen
    22.12.2007
    Příspěvky
    3
    Post Thanks / Like
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    HI,
    I have a few question about this procedure. First where can I buy Hynix HY5DU121622CTP chip in Europe and second after I replace RAM- "flash bootloader" - does this mean only flash a new firmware or do I have to use Hyperterminal (like emergency boot procedure)?

    Big thanks

    regards
    Matic

  10. #10
    Registrovaný uživatel
    Založen
    30.06.2007
    Příspěvky
    42
    Post Thanks / Like
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Where to buy - dunno. For example one my friend uses different rm chips
    from SO_DIMM modules which were compatible.

    "Flash bootloader" means using hyperterminal (or whichever serial terminal
    proggie you like). There is one intention - if you fails during upgrade bootloader,
    you got box nonworking. Any fix for that is using jtag then.


    /K

  11. #11
    Registrovaný uživatel Avatar uživatele Matic
    Založen
    22.12.2007
    Příspěvky
    3
    Post Thanks / Like
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Hi @K.. & @JirkaS

    After long time I bought 2 pairs of Hynix HY5DU121622CTP chip and I replaced it in my Kathy. Soldering was succesful. Then I installed original image versions from 1.03 till 1.06 and each one normally booted. After I installed your bootloader u-boot-K2.bin and of course I killed it to death.Lol. Please tell me if any of you still remeber, and has time, is this u-boot file still actuall here and exact procedure to put new bootloader. I used the normal procedure of installing u-boot: Installing U-Boot & Linux Kernel On The Target | STLinux .
    I also tried with hyperterminal procedure (loadb a4000000 +transfer file).
    I'm sure I wrote all commands correct and I can't see where I wronged. If you can, then please help me in this, and if you can post here perhaps log printenv. I want to try again on another box and I don't want to kill this one too.
    Thanx in advance
    regards
    Matic

    P.S. I apologize for double posting.. your forum script didnt respond.
    Naposledy upravil Matic : 03.06.2009 v 19:55

  12. #12
    Registrovaný uživatel Avatar uživatele Matic
    Založen
    22.12.2007
    Příspěvky
    3
    Post Thanks / Like
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Hi @K.. & @JirkaS

    After long time I bought 2 pairs of Hynix HY5DU121622CTP chip and I replaced it in my Kathy. Soldering was succesful. Then I installed original image versions from 1.03 till 1.06 and each one normally booted. After I installed your bootloader u-boot-K2.bin and of course I killed it to death.Lol. Please tell me if any of you still remeber, and has time, is this u-boot file still actuall here and exact procedure to put new bootloader. I used the normal procedure of installing u-boot: Installing U-Boot & Linux Kernel On The Target | STLinux .
    I also tried with hyperterminal procedure (loadb a4000000 +transfer file).
    I'm sure I wrote all commands correct and I can't see where I wronged. If you can, then please help me in this, and if you can post here perhaps log printenv. I want to try again on another box and I don't want to kill this one too.
    Thanx in advance
    regards
    Matic

Informace o tématu

Users Browsing this Thread

Toto téma si právě prohlíží 1 uživatelů. (0 registrovaných a 1 anonymních)

Podobná témata

  1. increase memory of the DB 5620?
    Založil orc v sekci fóra DreamBox - Firmware/Software/Hardware
    Odpověďmi: 0
    Poslední příspěvek: 22.08.2004, 12:50

Štítky pro toto téma

Záložky

Záložky

Pravidla přispívání

  • Nemůžete zakládat nová témata
  • Nemůžete zasílat odpovědi
  • Nemůžete přikládat přílohy
  • You may not edit your posts
  •